A Much Better Day

At 7pm yesterday, I realized I had totally forgot about my son’s 6pm piano lessons. I also went to do laundry only to find I only had enough detergent for one load. Yeah, it was that kind of a day. Luckily my husband took the kids to soccer practice. Instead of immediately attacking my to-do list, I treated myself to Panera, a chain cafe that just opened up near me. I got the food to go and ate most of it on my drive home, but it was nice to have a few minutes to collect myself and make a game plan. Yesterday’s goal was to put every random toy, article of clothing and anything else on the floor or counter top back in its place. I was almost successful with all the rooms of the house. When my family return, I am not sure I even greeted them with a hello. The first words out of my mouth were something along the lines of “Now don’t you go messing up this house.”

Tonight I was able to finish straightening up, packing for our weekend trip and grocery shop. I even managed to declutter 2 bags! Well, one bag of
wires has been siting in my car forever waiting for me to take it to a place that recycles such items. As I was folding clothes, I noticed my son had quite a few clothing items which were 3T sized. Since my son is 6 1/2 years old, I decided to get rid of them just on principle. (He may still fit a few of them sadly.) So the larger of the two bags has clothes I tried to sell and only got $2.50. But hey, that’s the point of snowflaking, right? Every bit helps!

Overall I am feeling much better! I still need to find the magic formula that allows for me to keep my house clean, laundry to a normal amount and my sanity in tack? Am I asking too much? 🙂

Thank you all for the advice and kind comments from yesterday’s post! It really helped!

4 thoughts on “A Much Better Day

Leave a comment