Personal Finance

June Goals -What is happening

I have been doing a horrible job at keeping track of my daily spending. June 9th was my last day of really paying attention to where my dollar go. Since then, I have let life get in the way. On top of that, I am taking an unexpected international trip for work replacing a coworker who couldn’t make it. I am thrilled for the trip! Although most expenses are covered, I am still going to stay frugal and not buy the entire gift shop. Because of this trip, I’ve decided to abandon the daily spending and try again in July when I wont be 1/2 way across the world.

Since removing social media from my iPhone and giving up Facebook for a month, I am finding my mind less distracted all the time. My mind is constantly thinking and rethinking every thing as I no longer have a constant stream of friend updates, world news or cat videos to pull my mind away from the realities of life. At first, it was a bit overwhelming. I would constantly reach for my phone when I found myself worrying about something or overthinking an aspect of my life. I’ve improved somewhat, but I still have a ways to go.

As I am reflecting, money issues have come up quite a bit. I am still in the process of examining our budget again! However, I am not so much on ways to cut costs, but also looking at the reality of how our money is spent. For example, medical expenses are not budgeted but we have any where from $100-$200 in medical expenses each month. Also, we have been doing online tutoring for my daughter who has dyslexia. We are realizing that she needs real in-person tutoring which can cost anywhere between $500-$600 a month. We really need to increase this budget line that is currently at $169. And maybe I really do need a gym membership. The way my pants are fitting, they would agree that I do.

Personal finance in my life seems to be ever evolving. I guess that’s where the “fun” lies.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “June Goals -What is happening

    1. It seems as though many of us are having these sorts of thoughts lately…maybe it’s the summer heat! lol 😉

      On a more serious note, embrace change; you just might be surprised how wonderful and freeing it can be. I was just saying these past few days that flexibility and adaptability are two incredible and extremely powerful traits to have and nourish. Keep up the awesome work and enjoy your international travel! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thanks! Yes we are. Ernie’s post definitely started the thought process going for me. I do need to embrace change better. History has proven change usually is a positive thing for me so I don’t know why I resist it so much.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations on giving up Facebook for a month. If I can do that, I’m quite sure it would benefit me mentally. I have not been able to give it up for that long because I feel bad if I don’t post “Happy Birthday” to my Facebook friends. I need help. Lol. I hope you enjoy your trip, and good luck with your budget!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I took baby steps by removing it from my phone first. That helped a lot. Now I changed my password to something with a bunch of random in characters that I’m too lazy to type in. Lol good luck! You should give it a try.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m going to do it eventually. You’re right about that app. Whenever I see a notification, I have to click on it. I’ve logged out of it before, but I was back on in about a week. I’ll get there. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

