Personal Finance

Day #6, #7 and #8 – Lesson for my daughter

The week has gotten away from me. Today I have 3-day update of my spending.

June 6th –  I used some money on my Starbucks gift card to buy a treat for my daughter after a long day of soccer camp. I don’t really count this as spending money, but I didn’t have enough to cover her drink. Thus I ended up using a random dollar bill I discovered in my wallet. Who knows how long that’s been there! Not sure if this counts as a non-spending day.

June 7th – zero dollars spent

June 8th – I was planning on not spending any money today again. My daughter had about $1.50 of her money left from selling her toys and planned on buying an icy drink on the way back from soccer camp. Her camp is outside and we live in a very hot climate. I totally understand her desire to get something cold every day when we leave camp. I have instructed her that she needs to use her own money and she has been fine with it. As I was driving to the store that sells the drinks, she had her money balled up in her hand. We stopped at a light and there was a man who was holding a sign that said “homeless and trying”. I noticed my daughter looking at him with compassion as she held her dollar and coins. I told her that she could give him some money if she wanted. She asked me how much she should give and I told her it was up to her. She starred at her money, rolled down the window and handed him her dollar bill. He thanked her and we drove to the store.

I figured she would ask me for money and if she didn’t, would find a cheaper drink in the store to buy. When we went inside the store, I watched her roam around looking for something she could afford. After a few minutes, I noticed she was crying. I pulled her aside and we had a talk about charity and sacrifice. She acknowledged that it felt good to give to someone else, but she was sad that she no longer could get what she wanted. I told her that when you give out of the goodness of your heart, you will be rewarded with greater than you gave. I decided to buy the icy drink for her, but it was a great learning lesson. I also gave her $5 spending money for the rest of the week. I noticed that she didn’t spend the money right away even though we were at Target. I am curious to see if she’ll offer to give charity again. Later in the evening, I heard her saying a prayer thanking God for giving her $5 and the drink.

Since I already spent $1.72, I decided to get some groceries and deodorant at Target for $42.34 and fill up the gas tank for $38.14. I did return some protein power that I brought the other day. It was a different brand than I usually buy, but it was on sale for 50% off. I wasn’t too thrilled with some of the ingredients, but I figured I could make it work. However, I decided my health is worth spending money on and purchased the brand I know my body likes. I also took out $5 in cash for a donation, but used my $5 gift card I had to lower the cost of my target spending.

Current standings:
Number of Spending days – 5
Number of Zero Spending days – 3

3 thoughts on “Day #6, #7 and #8 – Lesson for my daughter

  1. What a great lesson your daughter got to experience.
    Also-this is a really good challenge idea. Blogging daily about your spending is to see your spending vs no spending days makes you more accountable. I might have to do this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

