Personal Finance

Hello There!

I’m a little obsessed with money. I’m sure I’ll analyze this more in some blog post in the future, but since I can remember I have always had some sort of financial goal that I am working towards. For many years, it was to become debt free. Fortunately, I was blessed to pay off my student loans within the first years of my marriage. We then tackled car loans, home equity loans and other random debt. We opened college funds for the kids which we contributed to when we could. In 2014, I met with a financial adviser who said we could afford for me to quit my job and we would still be on track to retire comfortably. He might have lie to me, but I took his advice, quit my full-time job and took a part-time gig. I decided that only having one of really working could be pretty scary if my husband lost his job. So for the last year and 1/2, I have been building our 3-6 month emergency. Last month, we finally have 6 months savings tucked away.

So now what? As a CFO and being a bit OCD over money, I feel uncomfortable if I don’t have some financial goal I am working towards. I find myself spending money on frivolous things such as eating out, clothes and who know what else. I need parameters! For the last week or so, my brain has been going crazy trying to sort out all the advice I have been reading on personal finance blogs. Should I put more money into retirement? Should I pay off my mortgage? What is my network and how does it compare to others? Are we financially okay? Instead of letting those thoughts continue to roll around in my head, I decided to use a blog to getting out my thoughts, worries, goals and aspirations when it comes to finances.

I hope you follow along my adventure and see where I go! Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “Hello There!

  1. Thanks for checking out my blog. It’s a great idea to start a blog to sort out your financial goals. I’d be happy to share my take on all things financial if you like. look forward to reading your next post. L

    Like

      1. You’re quite welcome. It’s wonderful to hear from others going through similar things and gaining new perspectives. I’ve only been on here since December and love it more than I ever imagined.

        Like

Leave a Reply

